Quakers Go Wire-to-Wire, Davidson Captures Individual Medal at ODAC Men's Golf

Guilford College won its ODAC-best 19th men's golf title following 54 holes at Forest Oaks Country Club in Greensboro, N.C.

Quakers's Vick Named Golfer of the Year, All-ODAC Awards Announced

GREENSBORO, N.C. --- Guilford College completed a wire-to-wire run over three rounds of competition to claimed its conference record 19th ODAC men's golf championship on Tuesday morning and afternoon at the Forest Oaks Country Club in Greensboro, N.C. Quakers junior Sam Davidson bridged a two-shot gap between him and 36-hole leader Pierce Robinson from Washington and Lee University to collected medalist honors by one stroke and win his first collegiate tournament.

Davidson and Robinson accounted for two members of the All-ODAC First Team as the 2022-23 all-conference teams were announced in conjunction with the championship's awards ceremony. Guilford's Michael Vick, who placed third at the championship, earned Golfer of the Year laurels while head coach Adam Crawford took home Jack Jensen Coach of the Year honors.

Averett University's Max Petterson garnered ODAC Rookie of the Year recognition, while Shenandoah University's Trevor Berg received Ted Keller Sportsman of the Year distinction. University of Lynchburg junior Andrew Watson -- who fired a 5-under 67 on the final day to place third overall -- earned ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors.

Details for all awards, including the 2023 ODAC All-Tournament Team, are posted below.

RELATED: Tournament Results

Guilford, the fifth ranked team in Division III according to Golfstat, earns the ODAC's automatic entry into the NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championship. Additional ODAC representation, should any team or individual earn a bid, will be announced with the full field on Monday, May 8, on NCAA.com. The championship is slated for May 16-19 at Keene Trace Golf Club in Nicholasville, N.C.

The Quakers (284-293-291) were one of four ODAC teams to post sub-300 team totals for all three rounds of the conference championship. Lynchburg (290-298-285) made the biggest charge over the final 18 holes as the Hornets 3-under 285 marked the lowest round of the day and second-lowest for the tournament. That helped them tie Washington and Lee (288-293-292) for second place. Averett (295-293-291) rounds out that list.

Davidson was the lone player in the 60-person field to post three sub-70 rounds. He combined a 5-under 67 in round one with a pair of 3-under 69's to finish at 11-under 205 after 54 holes on the par-72 track set to 6,928 yards. Davidson finished with five birdies on the day to give him 16 for the tournament, two fewer than Robinson for the tournament lead. Davidson topped the field in par-3 scoring at 4-under (2.67 strokes per par-3 hole).

Robinson, who registered a school-record 8-under 64 in the first round, came up just short of matching Davidson at 11-under. His eagle putt missed the mark, but he made his birdie putt to push the Generals back into a second-place tie with Lynchburg. Robinson finished at 10-under 206 (64-70-72).

Watson carded rounds 73 and 75 to put him at 4-over entering the final day. His last-18 card features seven red numbers with five of those birdies coming on the back-nine for a 31 coming back to the clubhouse. He along with Davidson and Robinson were the only players to finish under par.

Posted below are the full lists for the 18 pin flags awarded to the top-18 finishers (ties broken by USGA rules). The top-six for the ODAC All-Tournament Team. Also list below is the complete set of All-ODAC Awards for the 2022-23 season.

For more information, visit the websites of the any of the participating schools, or go to the ODAC’s championship website.  Don’t forget to become a fan of the ODAC on Facebook and follow @odacathletics on Twitter and Instagram.


  1. Sam Davidson, Guilford
  2. Pierce Robinson, Washington and Lee
  3. Andrew Watson, Lynchburg
  4. Michael Vick, Guilford
  5. Antti Vahvaselka, Averett
  6. Max Pettersson, Averett
  7. Alan Van Asch, Lynchburg
  8. Eddie Coffren V, Lynchburg
  9. Cannon Crane, Washington and Lee
  10. TJ Whelan, Roanoke
  11. Capser Mellby, Averett
  12. Walker McPhail, Washington and Lee
  13. Austin Brooks, Randolph-Macon
  14. Parker Cumbea, Guilford
  15. Palmer Cuny, Roanoke
  16. Alex Rubino, Hampden-Sydney
  17. Rece Lott, Hampden-Sydney
  18. Caleb Kimbrough, Averett

ODAC Golfer of the Year:
 Michael Vick, So., Guilford
Jack Jensen Coach of the Year: Adam Crawford, Guilford
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Max Pettersson, Fy., Averett
Ted Keller Sportsman of the Year: Trevor Berg, Jr., Shenandoah
ODAC/Va. Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete: Andrew Watson, Jr., Lynchburg

Max Pettersson Fy. Averett University
Antti Vahvaselka Jr. Averett University
Sam Davidson + Jr. Guilford College
Michael Vick ^ So. Guilford College
Alex Rubino Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Pierce Robinson * Sr. Washington and Lee University
James Alden ^ Jr. Guilford College
Evan Mendyk So. Guilford College
Eddie Coffren V * So. University of Lynchburg
Andrew Watson * Jr. University of Lynchburg
Owen Malcolm Sr. Washington and Lee University
Parker Cumbea So. Guilford College
Nick Rubino So. Hampden-Sydney College
Harrison Smith Jr. University of Lynchburg
Alan Van Asch Fy. University of Lynchburg
Walker McPhail Jr. Washington and Lee University
* 2022 All-ODAC First Team
^ 2022 All-ODAC Second Team
+ 2022 All-ODAC Third Team